Shingles

Scorching
Hot
Intolerable
Never-ending
Galvanic
Lacerating
Engulfing
Scalding

I am a nurse who had only read about shingles. You can never appreciate something unless you experience it yourself. Well, I did. Unwillingly.

This acrostic describes the pain associated with shingles. It’s been over four weeks and it seems to be subsiding. Slowly. Still hurts to sit for long periods as the rash appeared on my right upper thigh and the pain radiated from my hip all around my lower torso. It felt, sometimes, like I was sitting in salsa. Hot, spicy salsa. The kind I don’t prefer. Internally or externally!

I hope that no one else suffers through this. There is a vaccine. I urge everyone to look into it and see if you are a candidate for it. You don’t want to have to experience this firsthand, I assure you. But if you do, stay strong. This too shall pass.

Leave a Reply

